Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

AHA awards two Press authors

The American Historical Association has awarded two Press authors this year as part of its annual recognition of “exceptional books, distinguished teaching and mentoring in the classroom, public history, and other historical projects.”

This year’s winners were selected from a field of more than 1,400 entries by nearly 150 dedicated prize committee members.

The Morris D. Forkosch Prize in the field of British, British imperial, or British Commonwealth history since 1485 was given to Tawny Paul for her book, The Poverty of Disaster: Debt and Insecurity in Eighteenth-Century Britain.

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare was given the Martin A. Klein Prize in African history for her book, Atomic Junction: Nuclear Power in Africa after Independence

In 2019, the AHA named six Press authors as winners, including Robert Saunders, who was also awarded the Morris D. Forkosch Prize for his book, Yes to Europe! The 1975 Referendum and Seventies Britain.

Have your say


Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.